As Easy as Paint by Numbers!

June 27, 2009 at 9:54 pm Leave a comment

I have been so crazy busy lately with lots of different school things and unfortunately my blog has been put on the backburner for a little while! I did some stamping to prep for a workshop I had today with the lovely Sarah-Jane (her workshop goodies to follow!), but that is about the only stamping I have done all week! I am still busy until school finishes this Friday, but I managed to squeeze in a quick minute to upload some blogs while I was doing some other computer work!

So here is my quick and easy post of a technique I demonstrated last week, which is colouring in your stamps with markers. It’s as easy as those paint-by-number pages we used to do as children!!

Step 1. Choose a stampset & colour palette to work with – in this case I chose Eastern Blooms and decided to use the Haiku DSP (I showed the girls how the IBC was so great for ideas – I got the colour combo and recommended DSP straight from the Eastern Blooms page!). I added a little Red Rose & Orchid Opulence too.

Eastern Bloom1

(To add a little bit extra to the Tangerine flower, I drew a stripe of Red Rose marker down each petal and then reversed the colours on the card below)

Eastern Blooms2

Step 2. To “paint” your images, simply use Stampin Up’s fantastic markers to paint colour directly onto the stamp rubber. This is perfect when using the multi-bloomed image in the Eastern Blooms set as you can add colour to the different flowers and still have a green stem. After painting all of the image, simply breathe on the image to moisten and then stamp onto your cardstock.

Eastern Blooms 3

Step 3. Voila! Step back and admire your beautiful creation!

Eastern Blooms 4

Step 4. Repeat steps 1 -3 as desired for multiple cards!

Added details: I used the Whisper White Note Cards & Envelopes to create this set and the sentiment is from Occasional Greetings. I used my bone scorer to create a dry embossed border around the outside of each card (you can see it more clearly on the first 2 cards). I also made a little folder for the cards to fit inside. I just made it freehand based on the size of my cards and it has a flap on the bottom which holds the cards in and then ties together with some Tangerine Tango ribbon.

The card folder doesn’t have an image on it because that’s the part that I demonstrated at my workshop! If you picture the branch with flowers from the 3rd and 4th cards attached to the front of the card folder, that’s what it looked like in the end!

Haiku Card Folder

Entry filed under: 3D Projects, Cards.

Looking for a Cute Purse? Trendy Trees

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Michelle Scott

Stampin Up! Demonstrator
Perth, Western Australia
Mobile: 0414 375 302
Email: stampingspot@hotmail.com
Blog: stampingspot.wordpress.com
Demo Website: stampingspot.stampinup.net

Stampin Up! Catalogue

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Disclaimer

This site is my personal blog. The content is my sole responsibility as an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator. The use of, and content of the classes, services, or products offered on this blog is not endorsed by Stampin' Up!

Blog Stats

  • 36,857 visitors

