Raspberry Suite Colour Challenge #11

July 5, 2009 at 2:26 pm 8 comments

The school term has finished and holidays have arrived, so I’m back on board with stamping and cardmaking and entering some challenges! I really love teaching, and love my class, but I’m always ready for a break by the time school holidays roll around!

This weekend’s plans involved some serious sleeping followed by some serious (and fun!) stamping, and my first item to show you is a card I made for Dawn McVey’s Colour Challenge! I love Dawn’s blog and love checking out all her ideas and cute cards, but haven’t had a chance to enter any of her challenges yet!

Raspberry Suite Challenge 11

I have been wanting to try my hand at making my own distressed flowers (a la Dawn), and thought it was the perfect opportunity to combine it with her colour challenge!

Here’s my card:

Caring Flower

I tore some Real Red and Regal Rose cardstock into rough circles, (and I also used a circle of Raspberry Tart DSP) and then scrunched them all up so they looked even more distressed! I roughly cut 2 Garden Green leaves out and distressed the edges of those too. I tied the flower pieces together by piercing 2 holes through the middle and then tying it together with some black cotton and a Whisper White button. Before sticking it to the card with glue dots, I also played around with the edges of the petals, rolling them inwards a bit and making them stand up more.

Here’s a close up of my flower:

Flower Closeup

I’m rather happy with the way the flower turned out and I look forward to trying a few more – they’re are so easy and versatile because you can use them with any colours of cardstock or DSP. You could also stamp on the petals or leaves to give different looks as well. What do you think?

“Caring Flower”

Stamps: Best Yet

Paper: Real Red, Regal Rose, Garden Green, Urban Oasis DSP, Raspberry Tart DSP

Ink: Basic Black

Accessories: Real Red Grosgrain Ribbon, Whisper White Button, Paper Piercing Tool, Mini Glue Dots, Stampin Dimensionals, black cotton.

Entry filed under: Cards, Challenges, Techniques.

Pretty Hostess Gift More Upsy Daisy

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathleen  |  July 5, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    This is a great take on that challenge! Your flower is really pretty! I’m a teacher in the US and I can totally relate to the “GLAD IT’S SUMMER” syndrome! Enjoy your time off~

    Reply
  • 2. Maureen P  |  July 5, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Love all the flower layers…so pretty!

    Reply
  • 3. grace01  |  July 5, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    love it, i LOVE making these flowers. great job

    Reply
  • 4. Elise  |  July 6, 2009 at 1:01 am

    That flower is GORGEOUS! Great job with this “challenging” challenge! Beautiful job!

    Reply
  • 5. Helen F.  |  July 6, 2009 at 1:35 am

    Love your distressed flower ~ great job on this very pretty card for Dawn’s challenge.

    Reply
  • 6. Clouds  |  July 7, 2009 at 6:59 am

    very cute! love the flower!

    Clouds 😀

    Reply
  • 7. Karen  |  July 7, 2009 at 9:42 am

    It looks like you had a lot of fun with your handmade flower!! It worked really well for this challenge and you managed to bring all five colors together for a fun flower card! :>

    Reply
  • 8. Janelle  |  July 9, 2009 at 5:48 am

    Great job on your Dawn-ish flower — and good job on the color challenge!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Michelle Scott

Stampin Up! Demonstrator
Perth, Western Australia
Mobile: 0414 375 302
Email: stampingspot@hotmail.com
Blog: stampingspot.wordpress.com
Demo Website: stampingspot.stampinup.net

Stampin Up! Catalogue

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Disclaimer

This site is my personal blog. The content is my sole responsibility as an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator. The use of, and content of the classes, services, or products offered on this blog is not endorsed by Stampin' Up!

Blog Stats

  • 36,825 visitors

