Button Bouquet

August 10, 2009 at 12:00 pm 4 comments

After making my “button trees” yesterday, I kept playing around and decided to make a bouquet of buttons – or some button flowers!

I needed some stems for my flowers, but couldn’t really find many options in my stamp stash! I finally found the stem from the hostess set “Live Like You Mean It” and only inked up part of it so the stem was shorter. I also wanted the stems to face different ways so that they looked more natural, so I used my Certainly Celery marker to draw some more stems with leaves. Then I poured out my button stash and picked some pretty coloured buttons to be my flowers (it helps that many of the buttons are shaped like flowers!)!

Here is my “button bouquet”:

Button Bouquet

  Here’s a close up of the garden of buttons:

Button Bouquet close up

I’m really pleased with how the card turned out and I think it looks really pretty! I always want to hoard my button stash and I tend to be quite reluctant to break them out and actually add them to projects! I even stopped halfway through making my card and thought – No!! I’m using too many buttons on one project! I could have used half this many buttons!! Aagh!!

But I kept pushing through my button angst and I love the way it turned out in the end! It’s a large card (a full A4 piece of card folded in half) so it needed to be a fairly big garden of buttons! This card will be going to one of the lovely girls at work who is having her birthday today, so it has lots of space for everyone to sign.

If you’re curious about the colour co-ordinating thread – yes, I did “thread” each one of those myself and no, I do not have thread in all of the Stampin Up colours! I “threaded” each of my buttons with a thin sliver of cardstock! There is a great explanation of how to get the perfect cardstock threaded button on Andrea’s blog over here.

I’m going to have to buy some more buttons now… maybe I can plant some button flowers and see how they grow…!!

 

 “Button Bouquet”
Stamps: Live Like You Mean It (stems), Great Friend (sentiment), Polka Dot (background)
Paper: Baja Breeze, Pink Pirouette, Walk in the Park DSP
Ink: Certainly Celery, Kiwi Kiss, Baja Breeze
Accessories: Pink Pirouette Striped Ribbon, Scallop Border Punch, Designer Bouquet & Latte Buttons, Word Window Punch, Stampin Dimensionals

Entry filed under: Cards.

Trendy Button Trees Butterflies for you

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah Klass  |  August 12, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Mish, you’ve outdone yourself with this one – absolutely delightful! Let me know how the growing of the button flowers goes… Might have to plant one for myself =)

    S x

    Reply
  • 2. chantell16  |  August 19, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    I think I will plant one of these gardens too…..love it. Chantell

    Reply
  • 3. Andrea  |  August 30, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Oooooh Oooooh! Love the buttons … this is just adorable!! xxx

    Reply
  • 4. Janice Klass  |  September 16, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Michelle.. I LOVE this… its so so so cute. Gorgeous card.
    Janice

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Michelle Scott

Stampin Up! Demonstrator
Perth, Western Australia
Mobile: 0414 375 302
Email: stampingspot@hotmail.com
Blog: stampingspot.wordpress.com
Demo Website: stampingspot.stampinup.net

Stampin Up! Catalogue

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Disclaimer

This site is my personal blog. The content is my sole responsibility as an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator. The use of, and content of the classes, services, or products offered on this blog is not endorsed by Stampin' Up!

Blog Stats

  • 36,825 visitors

