Inkspirations Inspiration Challenge #15

November 17, 2009 at 8:26 pm 8 comments

I had quite a stamping challenge with this card – and the difficulty wasn’t just from Keesh’s challenge pic!

I needed to make a wedding card for a man from work (our IT guy), who is getting married soon and today was his last day at school before the wedding. Even though the card was for the happy couple, we only really know the groom and we were giving the card to him today. So my card needed to be not too girly, but appropriate for a wedding, and possibly manly…?! That was a challenge!

I sat down at my stamping desk and stared blankly at it for awhile, until I remembered that Keesh’s challenge for this week included colours that were appropriate for a wedding and that also weren’t too girly! I thought I could use that as my inspiration to make my “manly” wedding card!

Here’s the Inspiration pic:

Love that bling and those cushions are gorgeous!

Of course, I had to use my Circle Scissors Plus again and make some lovely circles! I rolled over them with the So Swirly wheel (which always says weddings to me!) and used a retired sentiment stamp for the Congratulations. I used a heart from a new stampset from the Summer Mini – Hello Again – and added some rhinestones to “bling” up the card and also to fit in with the Challenge.

The card was well-received – I think he was surprised to get a card at all, let alone a handmade one with messages from everyone!

And now I can say that I can make a “manly” wedding card!!

“Congratulations”
Stamps: Congratulations (retired), Hello Again (*new – Summer Mini*), So Swirly wheel
Paper: Basic Black, Riding Hood Red, Whisper White, Sweet Slumber DSP
Ink: Basic Black, Ruby Red
Accessories: Clear Rhinestones, Circle Scissors Plus (*new – Summer Mini*), Stampin Dimensionals

Entry filed under: Cards, Challenges. Tags: , , .

Sweet Sunday Sketch Challenge #44 Parisian Breeze Box

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Danielle Daws  |  November 18, 2009 at 5:21 am

    What a gorgeous card. I love all the different elements – the layering, the use of colour, the rhinstones… It sounds silly, but I really love the strip of white in between the So Swirly images – it really makes the whole card pop. Congratulations on an awesome card!

    Reply
  • 2. Danielle Daws  |  November 18, 2009 at 5:31 am

    Hi Michelle, I tried to leave a comment earlier – apologies if this is a duplicate! I absolutely LOVE this card. The layering, the use of colour, the rhinestones… I especially like the strip of white in between the So Swirly images because it really makes the whole card pop! Gorgeous! I love your entire blog by the way!

    Reply
    • 3. stampingspot  |  November 18, 2009 at 9:15 am

      Thanks Danielle! I really enjoyed checking out your blog too! Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  • 4. Kelly Mayou  |  November 18, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    Congratulations! I just wanted you to know that your project will appear on the Yahoo Group Late Night Stamper’s blog finds of the day for Nov. 19. Want to receive your own copy of the blog finds of the day? Join us at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/stampinuplnstampers/

    Reply
  • 5. Makeesha Byl  |  November 19, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    I think you rocked it Michelle! You would never know you struggled with this challenge, as your creation is just perfect!!! Well done. THanks so much for playing! Love Keesh x

    Reply
    • 6. stampingspot  |  November 19, 2009 at 7:30 pm

      Thanks Keesh! I love playing along with your challenges, but don’t get to join as often as I would like! Thanks for the comment!
      M x

      Reply
  • 7. Tracey Old  |  November 20, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    I love the layout, the colours and the detail with the brads!! well played! Thanks for playing;-)
    Tracey

    Reply
  • 8. Sam  |  November 23, 2009 at 5:20 am

    a manly wedding card is definitely a skill to have!! I like this card and I am glad he did too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Michelle Scott

Stampin Up! Demonstrator
Perth, Western Australia
Mobile: 0414 375 302
Email: stampingspot@hotmail.com
Blog: stampingspot.wordpress.com
Demo Website: stampingspot.stampinup.net

Stampin Up! Catalogue

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Disclaimer

This site is my personal blog. The content is my sole responsibility as an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator. The use of, and content of the classes, services, or products offered on this blog is not endorsed by Stampin' Up!

Blog Stats

  • 36,825 visitors

