Sweetest Day + M&Ms

January 27, 2010 at 10:08 pm 1 comment

I’m back with the kid’s Sweet Treat card I promised! This one was a lot of fun to make – lots of Bold Brights (my favourite colours… not!). But it is perfect for a fun kid’s card, or even for a grown up who is a kid at heart!

My colour scheme was matched to the M&Ms and is made up of Real Red, Only Orange, Yoyo Yellow, Green Galore and Pacific Point! Very bright!

I started with a square card of Green Galore which measures just under 11cm square (it was one A4 piece of card, folded in half and then cut to be square). For the main panel, I stamped my gumball machine in Pacific Point and added it to layers of Real Red, Yoyo Yellow and Only Orange. I stamped the sentiment in the different inks and then cut out the different words to make a multi-coloured sentiment. I added a couple of buttons (that orange button is officially Pumpkin Pie, but it was a close enough orange for this card!) which I threaded with different colour card strips and then popped my M&Ms into a Sweet Treat Cup.

Of course, I had to make a pull tab again to keep the card in one piece while the recipient goes for the chocolate, so I added a tab at the top with some Real Red Polka Dot Ribbon that you can pull up like so:

… until your chocolates are released through the hole on the inside.

I also did something a little different with this card and made a background for the Sweet Treat Cup so that when the chocolates were eaten, the card still looked nice. This is what it looks like when the cup is empty:

I just punched a 1 3/4″ Circle in Whisper White, stamped it with the different round gumball stamp in the matching colours, and then stuck it to the tab so that it can be seen when the tab is pushed back in!

Well, I think the Sweet Treat Cups might get a rest for a few days now! I was back to school today, so might have to take the stamping easy for a few days while I get everything ready for the kids to come back on Monday.

Although I still have to prep my Shoebox Swap for our ‘A Klass Act’ Team Day on Saturday, so I will definitely be back after that to share some ideas from our get together. Looking forward to it!

“Sweetest Day M&Ms”
Stamps: Something Sweet
Paper: Real Red, Only Orange, Yoyo Yellow, Green Galore, Pacific Point, Whisper White
Ink: Real Red, Only Orange, Yoyo Yellow, Green Galore, Pacific Point
Accessories: Sweet Treat Cups, 1 ¾” Circle Punch, Playground & Sherbet Buttons, Real Red Polka Dot Grosgrain Ribbon, Hole Punch, Stampin Dimensionals

Entry filed under: Cards, Children/ Baby. Tags: , , , , , , .

Sale-a-Bration! ‘A Klass Act’ Team Day – January

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Natalie  |  March 16, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    These sweet treat cards are so cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Michelle Scott

Stampin Up! Demonstrator
Perth, Western Australia
Mobile: 0414 375 302
Email: stampingspot@hotmail.com
Blog: stampingspot.wordpress.com
Demo Website: stampingspot.stampinup.net

Stampin Up! Catalogue

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Disclaimer

This site is my personal blog. The content is my sole responsibility as an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator. The use of, and content of the classes, services, or products offered on this blog is not endorsed by Stampin' Up!

Blog Stats

  • 36,825 visitors

