Karen’s Notebook

February 9, 2010 at 9:43 pm 2 comments

I have a 3D project to share with you today! I made a little notebook for my friend’s birthday the other day. Well, I covered the notebook, anyway! The good people at Officeworks sold me the notebook in it’s original state and I just jazzed it up a bit!!

This notebook went to my wonderful friend, Karen:

I used a gorgeous piece of patterned paper from the Sweet Always DSP, which had such a beautiful picture on it that it didn’t need very much added to it at all!  I stamped some little flower images from the Always set in Regal Rose, Pumpkin Pie & Chocolate Chip and punched them out using the 1/2″ Circle Punch. I also added some Chocolate Ribbon along the edge and added her chipboard initial which I coloured with my Chocolate Chip marker.

Now, I was all set to share this project with you, using a completely different photo!! Then I saw a post by the very talented Amanda Reddicliffe, which gave some tips on using a photo editing program to edit your photos and make them look amazing! You can check it out her great tutorial here. I actually have been using the GIMP program (that she mentions) for quite awhile, but I hadn’t done much other than adding my watermark. I didn’t really know what to do with it to change the colours around and make them look better! I’ve been thinking that everybody else’s photos seem to look much better than mine, but I didn’t know how to change that! So, after reading her tutorial, I managed to brighten up my photo to get the one above.

ETA: I also had some advice from my lovely stamping friend, Jan (who is a bit of a computer whiz), and she said to use the Auto functions to make it even easier! It was SO easy after I knew a little more about what I was doing!! I updated the photo again, after playing around with the auto functions!

Would you like to see what it looked like before?!

Well, this is it:

And side by side:


.
.

.
.

.

.

.

.

.

I’ll have to play around more with these different tools, but I’m pretty happy with my first attempting at properly editing my photo! What do you think?

Thanks for all your tips, Amanda!!

Entry filed under: 3D Projects, Techniques. Tags: , .

Inkspiration Sketch Challenge #18 Sweet Sunday Sketch Challenge #55

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. stampingelegance  |  February 10, 2010 at 7:09 am

    Hey Mich this is looking great! Another good tip is that most programs like Photoshop elements and maybe the one you are using has an AutoBalance or AutoCorrect function which usually with one press finds the optimum brightness etc for your photo.

    This notebook is sooo sweet! Officeworks would be so pleased with their free advertising! haha

    Jan x

    Reply
  • 2. Jenna Millsap  |  February 12, 2010 at 12:00 am

    What a cute notebook! I like the first photo fo the notebook best. The colors of your image really pop! I can also see the details better. Thanks for sharing this great idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Michelle Scott

Stampin Up! Demonstrator
Perth, Western Australia
Mobile: 0414 375 302
Email: stampingspot@hotmail.com
Blog: stampingspot.wordpress.com
Demo Website: stampingspot.stampinup.net

Stampin Up! Catalogue

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Disclaimer

This site is my personal blog. The content is my sole responsibility as an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator. The use of, and content of the classes, services, or products offered on this blog is not endorsed by Stampin' Up!

Blog Stats

  • 36,872 visitors

