A Toolbelt Birthday

March 4, 2010 at 10:00 am 2 comments

My husband celebrated his birthday last week, so I set to work to make a male-appropriate card for his birthday! I thought it would be best to use the Totally Tools set to make sure that it was “manly” enough for him (after he has thought many of my previous cards for men are too girly!)!

What do you think?! Is it manly enough?!

Well, it did pass the test and was well received! This was inspired by a few different Totally Tool ideas I have seen around the internet and I combined them to create this toolbelt.

To create the background, I just stamped my Really Rust inkpad directly onto the Real Red cardstock and then repeated it, holding the inkpad in different directions. This gives a great rough look for something a bit fun! Then I stamped the different tools and watercoloured them using a range of different inks – Chocolate Chip, Really Rust, Pumpkin Pie and a little silver (non SU).

To make the toolbelt, I cut some rectangles of Close to Cocoa, rounded the corners and sponged the edges with Chocolate Chip. I faux stitched the edges with my Paper Piercer and a Chocolate Chip marker.  I added some Chocolate Chip Grosgrain Ribbon to make the belt loops and a loop across the front and added some Vintage Brads to create another holder.

I thought the sentiment was funny too! 😉 This is from the bottom of one of the tool stamps and works well for someone who likes tools and tinkering around in the back shed!!

“Toolbelt Birthday”
Stamps: Totally Tools
Paper: Close to Cocoa, Real Red, Whisper White
Ink: Chocolate Chip, Really Rust, Pumpkin Pie, Silver (non SU)
Accessories: Corner Rounder Punch, Chocolate Chip Grosgrain Ribbon, Aquapainter, Sponge Daubers, Antique Brads, Paper Piercer

Entry filed under: Cards, For Men. Tags: , , , .

Just Add Ink Challenge #6 Happiness on Fifth Ave

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janice Klass  |  March 4, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    I LOVE THIS CARD!!!! Just brilliant… and I love the sentiment too. Might have to ask you very very very kindly if I can have a play with it at the next team day. xxx

    Reply
  • 2. stampingelegance  |  March 5, 2010 at 7:49 am

    I am blown away Michelle this card is FANTASTIC! Great craft !!! Xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Michelle Scott

Stampin Up! Demonstrator
Perth, Western Australia
Mobile: 0414 375 302
Email: stampingspot@hotmail.com
Blog: stampingspot.wordpress.com
Demo Website: stampingspot.stampinup.net

Stampin Up! Catalogue

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Disclaimer

This site is my personal blog. The content is my sole responsibility as an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator. The use of, and content of the classes, services, or products offered on this blog is not endorsed by Stampin' Up!

Blog Stats

  • 36,857 visitors

